Author Topic: geneartor voltage  (Read 1250 times)

alibaba

geneartor voltage
« on: September 26, 2007, 09:31:55 PM »
i know this may sound silly but i am a total newbie...

i have a very windy spot nearby 15m/s.how do i determine which genrator is suitable for my site 12V, 24V, 36V & 48V DC ??. it will be grid-tied. the distance from my setup to the nearest powerline where i will"hook" my inverter and meter (in order to sell the excess electricity) is 18 meters.

i can't understand if the voltage is determined by the distance to the nearest powerline.

thanks for the help.

« Last Edit: September 26, 2007, 09:31:55 PM by (unknown) »

cardamon

Re: geneartor voltage
« Reply #1 on: September 26, 2007, 10:23:50 PM »
Do you have a particular wind turbine and controller in mind?  Typically grid tied wind turbines have a high voltage output, around 240 volts three phase.  The windy boy grid tied inverter takes a dc input of around 150-400v.  The whisper 200 is available in a high voltage version, but you would have to build or aquire a three phase rectifier bridge to feed the power to the windy boy inverter.  Perhaps some more details about what you want to accomplish would help.

Regards

« Last Edit: September 26, 2007, 10:23:50 PM by (unknown) »

alibaba

« Reply #2 on: September 27, 2007, 01:36:09 AM »
ok, so my idea is to buy the "FuturEnergy 1KW Upwind Turbine " at http://www.futurenergy.co.uk/products.html.

the description is:

Our New `rugged' Upwind Turbine range is based on 2 years of real-life testing and development in Warwickshire and the Uplands of Scotland.

Using our unique Permanent Magnet Generators, combined with our Hi-Spec Wind Turbine Blade Sets, these furling turbines create very useful power in low wind conditions, and over 1000W in winds of 12.5m/s.

Available in 12V, 24V, 36V & 48V DC versions, they are suitable for battery charging, water/air heating and Grid-Tie installations.