Author Topic: Help with a Wind Controller for Dummies  (Read 887 times)

suitep123

Help with a Wind Controller for Dummies
« on: May 19, 2008, 06:23:51 AM »
Hello all:

I've seen several postings for charge controllers.  Just about the time I think I get the pictures, I compare the pictures to the schematics and I get lost.  I'm not an electrician (don't do electricity at all actually).

We got the genny almost built, charging anywhere from 12 to 14 volts in the street at the end of our driveway so we're feeling OK about it.

We have no clue where to start with a charge controller.  Can anyone walk us through this part of the project, please?  We'd really appreciate the help!

Thank you so much.

Pauline

« Last Edit: May 19, 2008, 06:23:51 AM by (unknown) »

Flux

• Super Hero Member Plus
Re: Help with a Wind Controller for Dummies
« Reply #1 on: May 19, 2008, 01:19:31 AM »
"We got the genny almost built, charging anywhere from 12 to 14 volts in the street at the end of our driveway so we're feeling OK about it."

If you really mean that you may not need a charge controller. Get it feeding a battery and measure amps then you will know it is charging and when you see how many amps you get you will have an idea of what you need in the way of a controller.

Somehow everyone seems to think a charge controller is essential , it is only a luxury and you can work without it. If you can get good results from the turbine then you can simplify life with a charge controller so you don't have to baby sit the thing and match the input power to what you use.