Author Topic: Shakelight cap loses power in 10 min., why?  (Read 1408 times)

tawa

Shakelight cap loses power in 10 min., why?
« on: September 17, 2008, 08:07:00 PM »
I bought a shakelight brand light. It is the little one. It has a magnet moving through a wire coil which charges a capacitor. The light is a white LED light. Anyway, when I shake it to charge it, the charge is lost completely if I wait 10 minutes with the light off. Why is this? Is this the nature of capacitors?

Can this be fixed? While I know soldering, I'm no electronics expert. I do make my own battery powered LED lights though.

Thanks.

« Last Edit: September 17, 2008, 08:07:00 PM by (unknown) »

dnix71

• SuperHero Member
Re: Shakelight cap loses power in 10 min., why?
« Reply #1 on: September 17, 2008, 04:37:02 PM »
Maybe a bad diode. You have one of the real shakelights, apparently. The ones that failed specs had button batteries put in them so they look real but aren't. Those work until the batteries fail.

I buy mine from the 7-11 when hurricanes are near. They buy in bulk and resell for $5.

Even if I get one with batteries, it's still worth $5.

I don't remember them to be difficult to open. Test the cap and diode and replace them if need be.

« Last Edit: September 17, 2008, 04:37:02 PM by (unknown) »

Jeff

« Reply #2 on: September 18, 2008, 12:15:34 PM »
I have yet to see ANY of the "real ones". They have all had batteries, and yes, a little pc-board with micro diodes and caps. BUT, the "magnet" turned out to not be magnetic at all, and the wires from the coil (if you use a magnifying glass) don't even hook up to anything!

Take the guts out. The case, switch, and LED are useable. Put in two AA alkaline or rechargeable batteries. For the cost & bother, you might just as well buy a small LED flashlight that uses regular batteries, or rechargeable.
« Last Edit: September 18, 2008, 12:15:34 PM by (unknown) »

ghurd

• Super Hero Member Plus