Author Topic: Kill-A-Watts and X-10 with inverters  (Read 1429 times)

madlabs

Kill-A-Watts and X-10 with inverters
« on: July 26, 2009, 03:22:59 PM »
Hi All,

Just wondering how accurate kill-a-watts are when used with a MSW inverter. It seems pretty good, but just wondering.

The second question is does X-10 work on a MSW inverter? I'm guessing no, but thought I'd ask.

Thanks!

Jonathan

« Last Edit: July 26, 2009, 03:22:59 PM by (unknown) »

kurt

• website
Re: Kill-A-Watts and X-10 with inverters
« Reply #1 on: July 26, 2009, 02:34:35 PM »
i know for a fact that kill-a-watt meters will pop a resister on there circuit board and stop functioning if you plug one in to a modified sign wave inverter. i have no idea about x-10 stuff.  
« Last Edit: July 26, 2009, 02:34:35 PM by (unknown) »

Treehouse

« Reply #2 on: July 26, 2009, 04:24:21 PM »
This is a link to the meter I have been using for the last 2 years, and it seems to be close, but I think it's a little slow and does an average.

http://www.canadiantire.ca/AST/browse/3/HouseHome/2/Electrical/ElectricalTesters/PRD~0528851P/Energy
%2BMeter.jsp

This the the inverter I have also been using, again for the last 2 years with no problems.

http://www.canadiantire.ca/AST/browse/4/Auto/SolarPortablePower/Inverters/PRD~0111871P/Xantrex%2BXpo
wer%2BInverters.jsp

« Last Edit: July 26, 2009, 04:24:21 PM by (unknown) »

Nil

« Reply #3 on: July 26, 2009, 04:36:32 PM »
Kurt's reply kinda scares me, but I've already plugged my Kill-a-watt into a Magnum 1524 (modified sign wave) and it is functioning. When the inverter goes into sleep mode the voltage reads low like it should. I've also used it on some Harbor Freight inverts without problem. Maybe them cooking was a batch problem?

I cannot vouch for it's accuracy running on MSW but it is running.

Just my $0.02

« Last Edit: July 26, 2009, 04:36:32 PM by (unknown) »

madlabs

« Reply #4 on: July 26, 2009, 04:43:04 PM »