Author Topic: Can I just clip the varistor?  (Read 11734 times)

zap

• There's an app for that
Can I just clip the varistor?
« on: April 13, 2010, 12:22:53 AM »
I found a Precision Solar Controls model 1877 12" led traffic light in the trash.  Visual examination showed a varistor with a split case on the 120v driver board.

I have other varistors on other pcb but I'm having a hard time cross matching the bad one.

I assume lightning or some other surge got the varistor and the rest of the driver is good.

What are the chances I could remove the damaged varistor, at least temporarily, to test the light and not damage the driver, assuming it's still good?

OperaHouse

Re: Can I just clip the varistor?
« Reply #1 on: April 13, 2010, 06:51:47 AM »
I regularly clip them out.  There may be a fuse or circuit board link ahead of it which is open.   Any generic MOV over 150V will work that is the same diameter or you can just forget it.  

I'm a Newbie........How many of us ever get a chance to start over!  Tried in vain to sign on with my old account.  Won't take my old password or email me, but does know my old account.
« Last Edit: April 13, 2010, 06:57:33 AM by OperaHouse »

zap

« Reply #2 on: April 13, 2010, 11:39:42 AM »
Thanks OperaHouse.

I took the varistor out and still no joy.  I did a more thorough search of the board and found a fuse masquerading as a resistor or capacitor, replaced that and all is well.

It's blinding at 12 watts.  And it's red!!! DOH!  I guess if I operated a brothel it would be a great find.
Still a good find and I suppose I could replace all the led w/white and have a nice little... errr.. big light.
Luckily the led are numberd so I didn't have to count them... 198 in total.

Hope you get your name back.  Did you ask TomW or one of the others?

Opera House

« Reply #3 on: April 19, 2010, 03:27:14 PM »