Author Topic: Questions about Stators  (Read 4510 times)

redfoxx

Questions about Stators
« on: May 16, 2010, 03:48:35 PM »
Why are the coils all laid out flat horizontally compared to coils in the stator of an alternator which are vertical and stacked on top of each other like bricks? Probably a fairly simple question as I am very new to all this but just can't seem to find the answer. Thanks for any input

ChrisOlson

• SuperHero Member
Re: Questions about Stators
« Reply #1 on: May 16, 2010, 04:28:00 PM »
Why are the coils all laid out flat horizontally compared to coils in the stator of an alternator which are vertical and stacked on top of each other like bricks? Probably a fairly simple question as I am very new to all this but just can't seem to find the answer. Thanks for any input

Because the generators most people build for wind turbines are called axial flux, meaning the magnetic lines of flux do their work in an axial fashion from the generator rotor(s). An automotive alternator is radial flux, meaning the lines of flux are in a radial fashion from the rotor.

It should be pointed out that not all axial flux generators use flat coil arrangement. The coils can be overlapped:
http://www.windstuffnow.com/main/dual_rotor_turbine.htm
--
Chris

tecker

• SuperHero Member
« Reply #2 on: May 18, 2010, 08:52:29 AM »
 I think I know what your talking about  The reason you can't stack up the coils is flux penetration .The coil needs to be the thickness of the magnet or thinner . That way the air gap can setup the impedance with rotor motion as well as warpage in the rotor.

Ungrounded Lightning Rod

• SuperHero Member
« Reply #3 on: May 19, 2010, 05:10:26 PM »