Author Topic: AXIAL FLUX OR PMA  (Read 6316 times)

Yianie123.

AXIAL FLUX OR PMA
« on: June 15, 2010, 09:43:46 PM »
i am new at wind turbine so any advice will be greatly appreciated.  I have seen a lot of internet sites selling PMA made from alternators and there supposed to be the best.  And now I see a lot of talk for axial flux wind turbine that people make.  Can anyone tell me which is better and for what reasons?/
« Last Edit: June 16, 2010, 09:26:13 AM by TomW »

artv

Re: AXIUL FLUX OR PMA
« Reply #1 on: June 15, 2010, 10:23:35 PM »
You can stop looking ......This is the best site you'll find ..........whether you want to"do it yourself "...or let" somebody else do it".............this is the place to be........artv

willib

• SuperHero Member
« Reply #2 on: June 16, 2010, 12:31:04 AM »
An axial flux can be tailored to suit your needs.

Whether it is for wind or water you have more options with a axial flux machine.
You can choose its voltage ,12V to 48 Volts or higher.

If you are building one for water power you can build it directly for the output of your water turbine.

If it is for wind , you have a harder choice to make. Because of the unpredictability of the wind.

But you still have the choice to make it whatever voltage suits your needs.
Carpe Ventum (Seize the Wind)

wpowokal

• Far North Queensland (FNQ) Australia
« Reply #3 on: June 16, 2010, 12:59:00 AM »
I have both and believe both have their own virtues, sites selling PMA's are possibly flogging tape drive motors which are generally unsatisfactory.

As Willib said the axial flux is very much a roll you own option.

Three phase motor conversions also have flexibility, you can choose 2,4,8 pole motors which will suit different voltages and blade diameter, for my money they are more robust if you use an industrial motor, good bearing and shaft size, are fully enclosed and somewhat self limiting in output.