Author Topic: Newbie says hello  (Read 1758 times)

Dutch John

Newbie says hello
« on: August 22, 2010, 10:49:44 AM »
Hello group,

I am new to small windturbines, but determined to build one. Glancing through this forum, I realize I've got a lot of reading to do.... Ultimate goal is to have a small windturbine in combination with a few solar panels and a battery pack in order to feed part of our home. Additional a small backup generator powered by woodgas. The later one is ready. You can read about it on my website: AGGRESSIVE AD SITE REMOVED under "Microgasifiers".

Meanwhile I started the turbine build, using Hugh Piggott's plans. 3 m diameter, 800 Watt, 24 Volt. Height 10 meters. The frame, the easiest part, is almost done. Now a question that comes up: between stator and rectifier will be about 20 meters. I have this 25 meter flexible cable with 5 wires of 6 mm2 hanging around. 5 wires fit very well; 3 for the turbine and 2 for the panels. I presume it is on the small side, but copper is expensive at the moment. What do you think?

Regards,
DJ
Netherlands
« Last Edit: August 22, 2010, 11:38:56 AM by TomW »

Flux

• Super Hero Member Plus
Re: Newbie says hello
« Reply #1 on: August 22, 2010, 11:25:50 AM »
Not sure where you intend to put the solar panels.

If they are intended to go near the base of the tower I suggest you fit the turbine rectifier there in some sort of box and run the dc to the battery for both turbine and panels via the cable connected as a pair with 3 cores on one side and 2 on the other.

Flux

TomW

• Super Hero Member Plus
« Reply #2 on: August 22, 2010, 11:37:41 AM »
Welcome to the board, John.

As Flux says you can share the DC line with the turbines if they are located near each other.

I am interested in woodgas but your websight is not being very friendly with popups and slow loading.

Once it gets here it is just ads for greencards.

Unacceptable.

Tom

Dutch John

« Reply #3 on: August 22, 2010, 02:40:11 PM »