Author Topic: beginner questions  (Read 1324 times)

glennc

beginner questions
« on: October 03, 2010, 08:17:16 PM »
Hi! I'm new at building generators and was hoping for some help. I was able to put together a small three phase generator from information that I've collected from the internet, but my knowledge of electricity is so limited I'm not sure how to test it. Can I hook it up directly to my multimeter (having three wires instead of two throws me off), do I have to hook it up to some lights, or do I have to build a rectifier circuit? Its really a testament that someone with very little electrical know-how can actually put one of these together! I'm sure that this is all elementary to you guys, but I feel that if I can get past this, it would help me take further steps to completing this project. Thanks.

Bub73

Re: beginner questions
« Reply #1 on: October 03, 2010, 09:11:30 PM »
 You can test the ac output by measuring any two of the three phases at a time with your multimeter set to ac.
If you get your desired ac output you will then need a 3 phase rectifier or three single phase rectifiers to covert the output to DC if battery charging is your goal.
 Others here are better qualified to help than I am but the more detail and info you can post the better they will be able to help you and don't be afraid to use the forums search function there is a wealth of answers already posted in past post.

Hope this helps
Bob

willib

• SuperHero Member
Re: beginner questions
« Reply #2 on: October 08, 2010, 11:45:26 PM »
Hi glenn ,
as bob said you can test the AC Volts with your AC meter.

You can also test it on the DC setting by using individual diodes .
you will need at least four to test two wires comming from your alternator.
and six diodes to properly test all three wires comming from the alt.

as a side note just one diode will rectify the output , but this will just be half wave rectification.
as opposed to full wave rectification from four diodes and six.