Author Topic: Load drag  (Read 3883 times)

saratoga1

Load drag
« on: November 16, 2010, 09:55:41 AM »
Hi All
I am new to wind energy.
I have few questions regarding to current or load.
At what point attraction increase between PM and coils?
Without load rotar (dual rotor design) moves freely and open Voltage is nothing but excitation.
With load what part of rotor and stator ( Coils that facing PM only or rest of the non allign coils toward PM) consumes the wind force or the any mechenical energy?
Attraction between coils and PM starts at beginning at one side of legs?
Thanks

itsandbits

Re: Load drag
« Reply #1 on: November 16, 2010, 10:36:38 AM »
hi
there is no attraction between the coils and the mags but if you have steel core there will be some to that. the excitation which =power production is when the mags are going over the coils

electrondady1

• SuperHero Member
« Reply #2 on: November 29, 2010, 09:29:13 PM »
i have found through experiments with single mag rotors and holding a coil in my hand that there is in fact a repulsion between an energized coil and the magnets.
at slow rotation speeds the coil tends to shudder as it passes over the mags but as speed increases it has a tendency to want to levitate over the rotating magnets.

remember that when a coil is energized it in fact become and electro magnet.

artv

« Reply #3 on: November 30, 2010, 07:34:20 PM »
Hi ....Edaddy,.....when "the coil is energized it becomes an electromagnet"........what is the polarity of this ,......does it oppose or attract......I would imagine it changes polarity as the magnet passes by.......but always in opposition of the rotor magnet...........is this correct??........artv

electrondady1

• SuperHero Member
« Reply #4 on: November 30, 2010, 08:34:50 PM »
it's about seven years since i did those experiments and i remember the levitating effect.
i would feel more comfortable if someone with a formal education in this stuff could respond .
i don't want to steer you  wrong .