Author Topic: My latest worx...  (Read 2312 times)

Madscientist267

• Uh oh. Now what have I done?
My latest worx...
« on: November 13, 2010, 01:31:09 AM »
As promised, here are some pix of my latest work, much of which was accomplished during my hiatus from the board.

I apologize if this doesnt come out right, I shrunk them to fit the guidelines (hopefully) and this is my first attempt at a 'mass upload'.

I'm not going to go into detail with most of these, the pix speak for themselves (and are mostly referenced elsewhere).

Enjoy. Questions welcome.

And No, I am NOT off grid... YET!  ::)

This is the comparison of the 8D taken out of service after one of the 12V UPS units took a crap on me. I forked out like 400 bones just for the new batteries alone, and this is what they look like sitting side by side if the camera was a bird about to leave its mark... They are Ray-O-Vac SLIGC115 units, 230AH at the 20 hour rate, 120 minutes @ 75A. I'm good with that.

A closeup of the new batteries for the servers. Yeah, I was proud. This is the first REAL bank I had actually bought, not cobbled together from other things. Sexy aint they?  :-*

This is what happened to the UPS that took a dump on me. That will teach it. I told it to tell it's friends. I don't play that...
This is the one that my wife is ready to hang me by the charging cables with, and the unit that as soon as I finish drawing up the final modifications that were made last minute on-the-fly, will be posted up here for anyone who cares to repeat this ridiculously expensive experiment. This thing can do wonders, and for the most part, 'thinks' like me, but damn, did it have to COST SO MUCH?!?!