Author Topic: Tracking - why so complicated ?  (Read 10109 times)

Dave B

• DCB Energy Systems
Tracking - why so complicated ?
« on: June 27, 2011, 10:25:52 PM »
I'm new to solar and leanring a bunch but one thing I don't understand ... maybe I'm missing it some where but why doesn't there seem to be more "clock type trackers" rather than the complexities of actually tracking the sun ? I have never seen the sun do anything different than what is already known about where it will be when in the sky for any given date any where in the world. Seems to me you could manually tilt the array twice a year and have it always rotate horizontal to the ground just based on time. It wouldn't even have to be continuos to simplify things even more. How about rotating (not tilting) about it's pole axis maybe a certain number of degrees every half hour or something ? I would bet the sun will be there, why have the tracker track the sun ? I mean, don't we know it's not going to do loop the loops ? If that happens I think we are all in trouble. This could be as simple as you want, maybe even just a motor with an on off timer jogging through the day then returning home at a given time with limit switches. Any of this would be better than a fixed North South array.  Dave B.
DCB Energy Systems
http://dcbenergy.com/

TomW

• Super Hero Member Plus
Re: Tracking - why so complicated ?
« Reply #1 on: June 27, 2011, 10:39:45 PM »
I did this with a computer based relay driver board. Every X minutes move Y ticks of the actuator sensor and  reset to east at midnite.

So it has been done and I posted here about it.

Very simple and effective but needed a computer to do it.

Tom

Dave B

• DCB Energy Systems
« Reply #2 on: June 27, 2011, 10:57:23 PM »
Tom,