Author Topic: turnbuckle and cable sizing question  (Read 6421 times)

bennyspoon

turnbuckle and cable sizing question
« on: August 01, 2011, 10:21:37 PM »
Hi guys, i am wondering how all of you tower builders selected your cable and turnbuckle size to suit your towers?

Does someone here have a formula or calculation that they would care to share?

Cheers,
ben.

birdhouse

• Portland, OR USA
Re: turnbuckle and cable sizing question
« Reply #1 on: August 02, 2011, 02:23:08 AM »
ben-
i did my sizing of guy wires by other manufacturers specs.  ended up with three 20' chunks of pipe for a 60'+ tower.  1/4" for the top and 3/16" for the two lowers.  4 guy footings. 

if it were me doing an 80 footer, i'd go 5/16" for top and 1/4" the rest of the way down, but i'm far from an engineer, and these are just what *I* would deem sturdy.

if you're going over 80' then you'd better really know what you're doing, or be really good at math, or both!   :)

adam

TomW

• Super Hero Member Plus
« Reply #2 on: August 02, 2011, 04:04:32 AM »
I am running a 12 foot turbine at 45 feet on a pipe mast.

4 guys at 2 levels. 4 anchors approximately 40 feet from tower base.

All are 5/16" and I would not recommend any smaller on the guys.

I use 5/16" lift cable, too.

Just from here.

Tom

silentblue1987

• Why post my pic when I have a video game double..
« Reply #3 on: August 02, 2011, 06:23:58 AM »
5/16" is definitely sturdy and even with 3/8" you'd still need 800+ lbs of force to snap a line. once the mast is well balanced in the upright position you won't have much to worry about.

Not hard to find either.
http://www.google.com/products/catalog?q=steel+wire+rope&oe=utf-8&client=firefox-a&cid=2833108111651265304&os=sellers

If you want a surefire calculation I suggest for every 15ft of tower you add a set of guys (every 10 if you're paranoid). Make sure the top guys leave room for the blades though and evenly space them.
ex:
15' - 1 guy set (at 10')
20' - 1 guy set (at 15')