Author Topic: Permanent Magnet Servo Motors  (Read 6425 times)

Ekimdaed

Permanent Magnet Servo Motors
« on: September 16, 2011, 02:35:24 PM »
I'm new to the forum. I work at an industrial robot refurbishing company. We currently have a bunch of permanent magnet servo motors from the robots sitting around. I was wondering if these three phase motor would be any good in generating electricity with wind or water. If so would someone please be kind enough to help me? I started reading some information about generators but most of them have been smaller models. To give an example one of the motors I have specs are: Output 2.1kWCont. Volt 186V Amp(~) 7.4 A Freq. 133Hz Speed 2000 min. All of them vary depending on size and make. Any knowledge would be helpful.

Thanks for your time and patience,
Ekim

artv

Re: Permanent Magnet Servo Motors
« Reply #1 on: September 16, 2011, 06:13:02 PM »
Hi EK,....First of all I have very little to no knowledge of these things ,but am trying to learn, "2000 min" does that mean a minimum of 2000 rpm before it starts to produce?? Also 133Hz that's fast......maybe if it was put in hurricane winds it might work, I don't know..
Would like to get my hands on some of those motors though,....sorry for the lack of help......artv

Flux

• Super Hero Member Plus
« Reply #2 on: September 17, 2011, 03:08:26 AM »
The example you quoted gives 186v at 2000 rpm. At 200rpm it would give a bit under 18v. This would probably be a bit slow for a 12v wind turbine but could work with suitable blades. it would be a good match for 24v with a prop about 6ft diameter.

The thing you have to remember is that the current will still be limited to a bit over 7A. The power out is reduced directly in relation to the speed so you loose your 2kW rating and end up nearer 200W ( probably push it to a bit over 300W for wind use).