Author Topic: lightning strike  (Read 3347 times)

getterdone

• living off grid
lightning strike
« on: November 22, 2011, 02:05:29 PM »
well I've been flying my 10'er for about 4 years.
it took a direct hit last night.
the adjuster is supposted to come out and access the damage.
i think its covered.
if it is I'm just going to order a new one from forcefield.
has any one done this?
will i have to get a quote delivered from forcefield ?
and i will have to install it myself, what would be a fare price?

I'm off the grid an need the extra power that it makes.
winter time is when i get the most from wind.,summer not so much.

thanks in advance for the replies   john
« Last Edit: November 24, 2011, 05:04:13 PM by wooferhound »

wooferhound

• SuperHero Member
  • Huntsville Alabama U.S.A.
    • Woofer Hound Sound & Lighting Rentals
Re: lighting strike
« Reply #1 on: November 22, 2011, 07:27:50 PM »
I had a Long-Wire experiment hooked up to my system along with the Solar Panels.
Was supposed to gather static power when thunder storms roared through, and it worked about enough to light LEDs but that's all. But I left it hooked up anyway. Well a powerful lightning storm came through with many Strong Close Hits. Ended up blowing 2 Ghurd Controllers and an 8D battery.
My system is still recovering from that.

I had a couple of posts regarding the specifics of Long-Wire generation, but they appear to have been lost in the transition to the new forum software.

rossw

« Reply #2 on: November 22, 2011, 08:00:41 PM »
I had a Long-Wire experiment hooked up to my system along with the Solar Panels.
Was supposed to gather static power when thunder storms roared through, and it worked about enough to light LEDs but that's all. But I left it hooked up anyway. Well a powerful lightning storm came through with many Strong Close Hits. Ended up blowing 2 Ghurd Controllers and an 8D battery.