Author Topic: Source for 6 or 8 awg  (Read 8801 times)

breamer

Source for 6 or 8 awg
« on: September 12, 2013, 10:22:40 AM »
Could I go to Home Depot and use the wire that is sold there?  Does it have to be braided or solid.  I don't have a local source for PV wire

SteveCH

Re: Source for 6 or 8 awg
« Reply #1 on: September 12, 2013, 10:54:23 AM »
I buy 6 and 8 ga. at Home Depot and/or Lowe's. The prices in my area are usually the same. Stranded or solid...depends on what you are using it for. My uses are for wiring PV panels and etc. and I find mult-stranded much easier to work with. Note: I am not an electrician but a homeowner with an owner-built and maintained PV system.

Anyhow, I have found no source of wire any less expensive than the big box hardware stores. Keep an eye on the end-of-wire-spool and returned wire. At the stores I frequent, talking HD and Lowe's, they often have a selection of odd-length wire for half price. I found a 20' length of 6-ga last month and the clerk wrote it up for $2.

breamer

« Reply #2 on: September 12, 2013, 11:25:29 AM »
This is to extend my 1.6 kw system.  I have a run of 75'.  The panels are 160 watt,    
19.91V (not open circuit), so a 10% loss still yields 17v at the controller.  So even on a cloudy day I should still be over 14.4 V with 10 awg.  The panels are 160watt 12v, 10 amps

Additional thoughts?

XeonPony

• Global Moderator
  • Sanity is over rated!
« Reply #3 on: September 12, 2013, 03:08:13 PM »
stranded is better for dc, and you want largest guage you can afford, welding shops or good auto shops will have good heavy guages.
Ignorance is not bliss, You may not know there is a semie behind you but you'll still be a hood ornimant!

Nothing fails like prayer, Two hands clasped in work will achieve more in a minute then a billion will in a melenia in prayer. In other words go out and do some real good by helping!

Frank S

• Home with a view of Double mountain
« Reply #4 on: September 12, 2013, 04:39:29 PM »