Formulas and calculators > Coil winding

Coil shape for axial flux generator

(1/16) > >>

michal:
Hello everyone,
I'm in the process of making an axial flux generator for my VAWT , but find it difficult to digest all the information available on various websites. I'd like to know what is the best shape of coils, depending on the configuration of magnets.
The information I found on different forums is sometimes confusing and since I'm not an expert I hope someone here will help me to get my head around it.
I understand that for a single disc configuration (like the one below for example) the coil should be big enough, so that the coil legs pass over two magnets and cut thru the flux lines.

Plan view

Section

My problem is that I want an axial flux generator with two discs of magnets, yet found information on some website that the coil shape should be the same for this case also.
As the direction of magnetic field would be different on two sides of coil, would the the generated currents not cancel each other?

With the mainly vertical direction of magnetic flux (depending on magnet strength, gap size, etc…)  wouldn't I be better to have the coil shaped similar to the shape of magnet?
Please let me know what you think about the best configuration.
Many thanks in advance… :)

electrondady1:
hello michal,
 i build verticals as well as they are best suited to my circumstances .
your showing a 3 phase configuration.
3 coils for every 4 mags
and describing a dual rotor axial flux alternator.
i would suggest that you could make the centre hole of the coil the same size or slightly smaller than the magnet and let the shoulders of the coils touch each other .

michal:
Thank you for quick reply,

And regarding the shape of the magnets  - what would you recommend?

For single rotor I understand the advantage of wedge/rectangular shape, but for double rotor design, would the circular shape be a good idea ?