Author Topic: Steel laminate core radial PMA build  (Read 8230 times)

CraigM

Steel laminate core radial PMA build
« on: March 06, 2012, 10:31:29 PM »
Hello to all,

I recently came across a source for silicon steel sheet (8" x 36" x .013") at a local metal salvage yard. After posting in Newbies about options for using this material and some helpful advice from Flux I thought I'd try my hand at building a radial PMA. This is a first build for me so hopefully I'll make a bunch of mistakes and in the process maybe learn a thing or two.

I did some preliminary drawings and in doing so wondered how I would lower the stator core into the ring of magnets (drum) without it crashing or losing fingers. I studied the jacking screw method outlined in Hugh Piggotts book and thought it may work with the radial design as well.

Some of the obstacles I read about concerning the radial PMA design is finding suitable core material and then if a core is found how to fabricate a matching drum. I believe I've found a good source for core material so now I can fabricate a core to match an existing drum inner dimension. Another obstacle I've often read about is a radial design is not adjustable for air gap (flux weakening). This is where the jacking screw idea comes in. If I can control lowering the stator into the drum then I can also adjust how much of the stator is contained in the drum. If the stator is fully positioned perpendicular to the magnets then I have 100 percent flux capacity. If I back the stator out from the drum half way then I have 50 percent flux capacity and have effectively reduced the alternators strength. By doing so I can now adjust the power curve of the alternator to the power curve of the blades. So tell me, am I all wet with this theory?

5177-1