Author Topic: Choosing correct voltage inverter (grid-tied)  (Read 3980 times)

jridley

Choosing correct voltage inverter (grid-tied)
« on: April 12, 2012, 08:41:31 PM »
This has certainly been covered before, but I wasn't able to find it (poor searching skills probably).  I'm a newbie but have a decent electronics background.

If there's a good FAQ, feel free to just point me to it.

I'm going to be picking up a few things and putting in a very small experimental grid-tied solar installation just to figure out what I'm doing, and maybe next year put in a few kilowatts.

A friend and I are going to be picking up some panels (splitting shipping costs).  The ones we're looking at are 37v open circuit, 29 volts Vmp.

The inverters we're looking at are rated either 14-28 or 28-52 volts.

With the Vmp at 29 volts, I'm unsure which range of inverter to get.  I'm concerned that a 28-52 volt inverter might not get enough voltage to do anything on partially overcast days, but OTOH a 14-28 volt inverter might have more than it can handle with these panels.

I also wonder whether inverters are more efficient near the top end of their voltage range (IE 50 volts instead of 30 on a 28-52 volt inverter) which would argue towards putting panels in series.  If so, could a 28-52 volt inverter deal with two of these 29v Vmp panels in series?  Probably not, I'm guessing since that's way over voltage.

joestue

Re: Choosing correct voltage inverter (grid-tied)
« Reply #1 on: April 12, 2012, 11:41:15 PM »
If the inverters are designed properly they would be most efficient in the center of the voltage range.
however, the efficiency curve is primarily load dependent, and if those grid tie inverters don't provide an efficiency curve in the manual then i wouldn't buy them.

got a link for them?
My wife says I'm not just a different colored rubik's cube, i am a rubik's knot in a cage.

jridley

« Reply #2 on: April 13, 2012, 01:46:06 PM »