Author Topic: General guidance  (Read 14407 times)

Uncorruptable

General guidance
« on: May 01, 2012, 04:32:07 AM »
Hello everyone,

My name is eoin & i am from ireland, I am a beginner at this & know some technical/electrical stuff but not a great deal, i have gathered some equipment that i will use to build a windmill, as with most projects i tackle my aim is to reuse parts that would otherwise end up scrapped but are perfectly fine to be recycled into good use.

What i have collected so far are,

And i also have a UPS which i will look to modify to utilise the built in invertor,

What i need guidance on is,

I have a battery charger that is 48v 105a, a battery that is 24v made up of 12v batteries in series, & most likley the built in inverter in the UPS will be with a 12v battery in it.

Is the battery charger any use to me in between the windmill & battery in any way?

I understand the current coming from the PMM (Permanent magnet motor) will fluctuate a lot so what do i need to go from that to the battery charger or battery if the charger happens to be no good to me?

Can i modify the UPS to act as the voltage regulator going into the battery bank if i take them off series & the inverter going out if i by pass the internal 12v battery for my forklift battery?

Apologies for all the questions that may appear obvious to expereinced folks but as i said, i am new to this.
« Last Edit: May 01, 2012, 04:41:13 AM by Uncorruptable »

tecker

• SuperHero Member
Re: General guidance
« Reply #1 on: May 01, 2012, 06:59:55 AM »