Author Topic: Solar Power Netbook  (Read 8807 times)

cmabc123

Solar Power Netbook
« on: April 27, 2012, 02:06:27 AM »
Hi,

I had a question about a solar set up. I'm going to be doing some boondocking in the future and wanted to set up a solar/wind system that would indefinitely power a netbook. This is the only draw from the system, but the netbook runs about 17 hours a day. No internet, but I would be using it for general wordprocessing, watching video, and listening to audio files. The netbook is an Acer One Aspire. 

I'm new to alternative energy so I'm having a difficult time figuring out what exactly would work. I have purchased an adapter for the netbook that plugs into a cigarette lighter and then got a DC extender that the cigarette lighter plugs into and it has alligator clamps on the other end to connect to a deep cycle battery. I did this to remove the need for an inverter and it works great. Right now I'm using the netbook to write this and it's been running off the deep cycle battery for two days and 3 hours (37 hours). I don't know how long it will last before the battery runs out of power. 

Now I'm looking for a way to keep the battery charged indefinitely while running the netbook for 17 hours each day, every day. I thought a solar/wind combo would be perfect, but I thought I would take it step by step and ease into is slowly. What size of solar panel would keep a deep cycle battery charged while also running the netbook? The battery is a 115 ah marine battery but I could be using a smaller ah in the future. 

I'm going to be in a pickup cabover camper so space is limited. I would really like something that was somewhat portable (i.e. not mounted on the rv roof) - something I could lay out on the ground or lean against the truck once parked. 

Cost is somewhat of an entry barrier also, so the cheaper the better.

Thanks for any help.

cm

DamonHD

• Administrator
  • Super Hero Member Plus
    • Earth Notes
Re: Solar Power Netbook