Author Topic: axial flux permanent magnet generator  (Read 2770 times)

mallikarjun

axial flux permanent magnet generator
« on: February 14, 2013, 02:36:36 PM »
Hi This is Mallikarjun

I'm a student ,we r doing a project on axial flux permanent magnet generator for wind power

i am using magnets of trapezoidal shape magnets(NbFeB) of

with dimensions of outer diamater 60mm xinner diameter 47.5 X height 39.5mm and thickness 5mm

magnet grade 42 of NbFeB

since i m doing 8 pole rotor and stator would be star connected and i am using 12 coil for stator
 i need know about how many turns per coil should be used for 300watts capacity and the gauge of wire 
 speed would range for 350-400rpm

please help me out ..

GoVertical

Re: axial flux permanent magnet generator
« Reply #1 on: February 15, 2013, 05:38:57 AM »
http://www.6pie.com/faradayslaw.php

Hi, the above should help
Learn from the past, live in the present, plan for the future
kilroyOdin is not here ;)
SEMPER FEROX

Flux

• Super Hero Member Plus
Re: axial flux permanent magnet generator
« Reply #2 on: February 15, 2013, 01:50:15 PM »
How long is a piece of string?

What voltage, what prop diameter, what wind speed, what air gap between magnets.

Is your proposed speed cut in or working speed at 300W output.

I take it you are doing an overlapped coil 3 phase design with 12 coils and 8 magnets.

All I can offer you at this stage is a formula to calculate the number of turns for the cut in.

If you are star connected your ac line voltage will be battery volts divided by 1.4

For a 12v battery you will need about 8.6v ac at cut in speed.

If you can establish the flux per pole ( flux density x pole area) then you can use this formula

V =4.4 x ( flux per pole) x frequency x N  where N is the total number of turns per phase ( 4 coils in your case).