Author Topic: 2-500w stators or one big stator, power?  (Read 8783 times)

gww

2-500w stators or one big stator, power?
« on: June 08, 2012, 04:28:56 PM »
First post.  I am on my second build of hugh piggott 2003 version 8 foot blade wind tubine.
what would my power have been if i would have put the 20 coils and 48 mags on one stator and two rotors?
 more or less?
 thank you. 

DamonHD

• Administrator
  • Super Hero Member Plus
    • Earth Notes
Re: 2-500w stators or one big stator, power?
« Reply #1 on: June 08, 2012, 04:44:40 PM »
I am NOT a wind expert, but:

1) The power available from the wind is your limit, so all there is left to argue about is efficiency of extracting it.

2) This has been endlessly argued and I think the consensus is that a well-built single stator will do as well as anything, but I stand ready to be corrected.

3) Welcome!

Rgds

Damon
Podcast: https://www.earth.org.uk/SECTION_podcast.html

@DamonHD@mastodon.social

gww

« Reply #2 on: June 08, 2012, 06:22:44 PM »
damonhd
thank you for your responce.
   The reason I ask is I read this on a differrent post the consenses was; double stator wasn't as good as bigger stator (or two wind turbines?).
  same magnet size and coil size bigger rotor and blades. if 1000w seperate how much combined?

PS can't get spellcheck to work.

gww

« Reply #3 on: June 08, 2012, 06:56:43 PM »
Am I correct in my turbine that the ten coils at 320 turns of 21ga wire is giving me 48 volt per coil, wired in parrellel, with the individual coils providing the amps combined?

with bigger rotor, more of the same coils and bigger blades,  wouldn,t this slow the rpms and not reach cuttin?

Thank you

fabricator

• SuperHero Member
  • My smoke got out again
« Reply #4 on: June 08, 2012, 07:05:34 PM »
You are going to have to come up with a more meaningful post than that, that means pretty much nothing.
I aint skeerd of nuthin.......Holy Crap! What was that!!!!!