Author Topic: Post mortem on four AGM 75ah batteries, and how to do better next time?  (Read 3129 times)

LeeC

Greetings,

I am a beginner, looking to learn from prior mistakes so I don't repeat them. Below is the tale of my first set of AGM batteries that I thought I had cared for properly, expected to last maybe 10 years, but are now degraded to only 5-10% of rated output after 9 years on almost continuous float charge.

Are these batteries done through natural causes (old age)?
Are they done because of no exercise?
Could the charger have abused them?

I want to plan a replacement purchase (considering eight SunXtender PVX-1080T) but now have concerns about getting the right batteries and charger/controller that will perform as expected. I would greatly appreciate some guidance and recommendation on batteries and charger/controller based on your experience with what has worked for you. Am willing to read more, study, do experiments, spend some more money, sweat--whatever it takes to learn and get it done right.

========================================
APPLICATION