Author Topic: How can I connect solar panel directly to my grid?  (Read 4275 times)

storrence

How can I connect solar panel directly to my grid?
« on: November 29, 2012, 08:59:58 AM »
I'm living in a remote location and buying batteries is very difficult especially larger sizes.

So I had another idea. I'm not an electronics expert but I know enough to come up with crazy ideas so bear with me here :)

I don't want or need to disconnect from the grid but I want to help in the energy creation without the need of storing it so I thought why can't I use some circuit that puts whatever solar or wind energy I'm creating directly on my line. I was trying to visualize it like water. For example if i had a 100psi water line coming to the house and a meter at the street recording how much volume passes, if I added a secondary source of water like from a well and pump that didn't work 100% of the time. Then whenever it was on, I would require less pressure from the street and if it ever was more than I was consuming then could run the meter backwards. I'm not interested in running the meter backwards. I know I will not create enough energy to subsidize all my needs. I just want to eliminate the storage batteries.

So can I convert the 12v DC to something that can be added directly to my line to help my meter run slower or am I thinking the impossible?

Thanks!

madlabs

Re: How can I connect solar panel directly to my grid?
« Reply #1 on: November 29, 2012, 11:00:54 AM »
You can, it's called a grid tied inverter properly installed by a licensed tech. The DC has to be changed to AC and then synched with the line frequency and that is exactly what a grid tie inverter does. There is no way to roll your own unless you are an electronics guru with a complete lab and even then your creation would be against the law until you got it UL apporved and installed by the licensed tech mentioned above.

Jonathan

storrence

« Reply #2 on: November 29, 2012, 01:05:29 PM »