Author Topic: FreestandingWinchargerTowerAnchorInfoNeeded...  (Read 6727 times)

doubledipsoon

FreestandingWinchargerTowerAnchorInfoNeeded...
« on: January 06, 2013, 02:01:47 PM »
I'm about ready to drill the foundation holes for my sixty year old 45 foot three-legged self-supporting Wincharger Tower. The tower has a 92" spread at the base. I'm not an engineer, but from the info I've gathered over the years, I've decided to auger out three 7 foot holes, each three (3) feet in diameter. That would amount to about 1.8 cubic yards per hole of cement, for a grand total of 5.4 cubic yards for the three holes. My soil is clay/ rocky, with no sand. Now, I'm mounting a Sencenbaugh 1000-14 wind generator on the Wincharger Tower. This bird has three 6 foot blades, with a top RPM of 290 before it feathers out of the wind with its "blade-actuated" governor. With all the above info, do you think there's enough cement in those holes to secure this baby? Do I get an "A"?

Crispy

Re: FreestandingWinchargerTowerAnchorInfoNeeded...
« Reply #1 on: January 06, 2013, 02:17:31 PM »
I think I read on here somewhere recently that a cubic foot of concrete weighs around 150 Lbs. If that is accurate then you are looking at almost 22,000 Lbs. That's in the neighborhood of what Chris Olsen used for his tower which I believe is 90 ft. Check with him though. I'm just going off memory.

Don't forget plenty of rebar  ;)
My hair is smoldering for a reason, that's why I'm here.

birdhouse

• Portland, OR USA
« Reply #2 on: January 06, 2013, 03:01:46 PM »
off the top of my head, that sounds just a hair light for 92" spread.  but i'm no engineer.  45' is a large pivot arm!

5.4 yrds ~ 21,600 lbs...

one things that's easy to do if your nervous, is to climb down into the holes and dig out the sides a bit.  give a hair more room for concrete, and pull out is less of an issue, not to mention a larger bearing surface on the soil below. 

adam

doubledipsoon

« Reply #3 on: January 06, 2013, 03:22:29 PM »