Author Topic: will this setup work?  (Read 4215 times)

seth526

will this setup work?
« on: December 28, 2012, 12:53:23 AM »
Hello Friends,

I am new to this topic,if i am asking something stupid please ignore.

I have attached an image which shows that there are 4 permanent magnets with alternate poles on the 4 sides of a rotor.When i supply current to the 2 coils will it rotate the rotor or not.

If not,then why?

Flux

• Super Hero Member Plus
Re: will this setup work?
« Reply #1 on: December 28, 2012, 04:47:53 AM »
Depending on the direction you wound the coils, it will either stay still ( coils attracting magnets) or rotate 90 deg to reach the same state.

Once it has rotated that 90 deg you need to reverse the connections to the coil and then it will go another 90 deg aand then you need to rteverse again.

In days of old before electronics the only way was with a commutator and brushes and that method still works today. For those brought up in the space age you can use electronic switches ( mosfets , transistors or similar ) and you need something to tell it when to switch ( hall sensors or opto sensors or obtain feedback from the emf induced in the coils.

Don't try to invent the wheel , just look up electric motor. Alternators don,t run off batteries as motors.

Flux

seth526

« Reply #2 on: December 28, 2012, 11:44:28 AM »
Thanks Flux for your reply , if instead of DC we supply AC to this setup will it rotate.

dbcollen

« Reply #3 on: December 28, 2012, 12:22:53 PM »
yes, it should motor, but you may need to spin it to get it to start.

Flux

• Super Hero Member Plus
« Reply #4 on: December 28, 2012, 12:41:40 PM »
That's right, you WILL need to spin it to start and it will only rotate at one speed where the ac polarity is reversing at the speed the magnets are swopping over. This is the synchronous speed and for a 4 pole machine like you have drawn that speed will be 1500rpm on a 50Hz supply or 1800rpm for 60 Hz.