Author Topic: 5 watt solar panel  (Read 7002 times)

johnnym

5 watt solar panel
« on: January 27, 2017, 12:54:10 PM »
I got this little 5 watt solar panel but it came with no terminals or wires. Where do I get the wires to use this? Are these mc4 connectors? Would this be able to charge a 12v battery? I am new at this so any help would be appreciated.

Ungrounded Lightning Rod

• SuperHero Member
Re: 5 watt solar panel
« Reply #1 on: January 27, 2017, 03:16:50 PM »
I can't make out the connector.

18V open-circuit is about right for charging a 12V battery.  That gives you a margin for things like the voltage dropping if the panel gets hot.  A panel that is loaded acts close to a constant-current source limited by the amount of illumination on the least-illuminated cell (or parallel rank of cells in big panels).  The energy lost due to the voltage of the load being lower than the panel's open-circuit voltage appears as heat in the panel.  In an unconnected panel just sitting in the sun ALL the absorbed energy appears as heat there, so this smaller amount is not an issue.

Face-on to high noon sun it should be able to drive about a quarter amp into a 12v battery with a direct connection (or through a back-leakage blocking diode.)  You could probably get away with hooking it up directly.