Logged in users > User Diaries

Monitoring the Tristar TS-xx with a PI.

(1/8) > >>

Simen:
I just bought a Tristar TS-60, because i've added 200W of solar panels to my bank, and blew my old Picaxe dumpload controller due to too much load. ;)

Since the Tristar comes with a rs232-port, i just had to try to communicate with it, and i wanted to use a Raspberry Pi to do it.
Now, i'm no programming genius, but with a good deal of searching the net, studying documentations, and some 'borrowing' of code, i actually managed to get data out of the Tristar; make sense of it, and put it on a 'live' webpage... ;)

http://mwlmf.net/monitor/monitor.py
(Refreshes every 15 sec.)

The Tristar uses the Modbus protocol to communicate, and i found a free library for Python called pymodbus which installed on the Pi without problems. I'm using a 'Prolific pl2303' based usb to rs232 cable between the Pi and the Tristar, which the Pi accepted without any fuss.
The Pi uses around 3.5W, which i find acceptable for a full computer. ;) It runs directly from my bank via a 12V to 5V usb plug.

The Python script on the Pi gets data from the Tristar every 5 sec., and stores the data in a textfile directly on my webserver, where another Python script picks it up and creates a webpage every 15 sec.

I can publish the scripts here, if there are any interest. :)

Here's a pic of the Tristar and the Pi, and some other of my mess...

Since my basement (where my 4x Rolls S-530 batteries are) keeps a cool temperature all year (10C-16C), i really should get the external temp sensor for the Tristar, but for now, i've set the Absorption stage to 14.8V to compensate for the cool temp.