Author Topic: My small axial flux turbine  (Read 17800 times)

klsmurf

• "Damn it Jim, I'm a carpenter, not an electrican"
My small axial flux turbine
« on: June 30, 2013, 05:23:36 PM »
Hi All,

Waiting on parts, so I've got time to download photos and do some documenting. Don't know how much interest there will be, but here it goes.
A little background to start. I have been a member here for a couple of years and always wanted to build an axial flux turbine. Like bow-ties, wind turbines are cool! I can't justify building a 10' at this time, mainly because of tower costs.

Like many on this board, I'm a tinkerer and a recycler. I had an opportunity last fall to acquire a box of hard drives in a labor barter deal, perfect! Wire from a couple motors along with various hardware bits I had, I've got the start of a small turbine.I've read the books, practically read the whole board, but you have to have lab time. That's why we tinker!

State of the art testing facility:

My magnet rotors were 2 saw blades on each side though well aware of the problems.The blades happen to have a sixteen pole layout with good spacing.

The wire I had available in quantity was #24 and #21 AWG. I wound a test coil of each.

Since I haven't played with magnets and coils since high school physics, I started with a few basic observations. I stacked various heights of magnets on each rotor and watched the voltage change. I also did the paper clip test on all variations. It stuck on all of them of coarse, but you could tell the strength by feel.

Up to this point, I had know idea what kind of power was possible. I took the voltage reading from the #21 wire and calculated that I could make a 3 phase, 12 coil stator that would work for a 4-5' prop. I compared my test coil to my CAD mock up and saw plenty of room to wind 2 in hand. I wound one of those coils and tested.