Author Topic: newbie hydro power  (Read 3619 times)

miner

newbie hydro power
« on: July 22, 2013, 04:10:33 PM »
i am new to trying to understand hydro power but i would like to get started so this is what i have.  I have a 1inch line with a 110 feet of over 1600 ft fall which should give me 55lbs of head would i be able to generate substantial power off of this using a 1/4 inch line off of the 1inch main line.  Water is no problem year around, any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.  Thank you!

joestue

Re: newbie hydro power
« Reply #1 on: July 22, 2013, 05:49:29 PM »
5 gallons a minute out of that line will drop your 47 psi down to about 32 psi, and that will get you 37 watts available.
(from here: http://www.rockyhydro.com/Free_Micro-Hydro_Calculator.php)

2 inch diameter pipe would let you pull 30 gallons a minute for about the same pressure drop, should get you 300 watts.
55 psi is 130 feet of head.
My wife says I'm not just a different colored rubik's cube, i am a rubik's knot in a cage.

miner

« Reply #2 on: July 22, 2013, 08:31:36 PM »
thank you would that be per hr or daily. yes i am truly a newbie!

joestue

« Reply #3 on: July 22, 2013, 10:42:39 PM »
37 watts is enough to run a soldering iron.
with hydro its always assumed you're running 24/7.
so just multiply watts times hours and you get watt hours.
888 watt hours or .88 kilowatt hours.
2 inch pipe should get you about 7 kilowatt hours per day.
My wife says I'm not just a different colored rubik's cube, i am a rubik's knot in a cage.

sailawayrb

« Reply #4 on: July 23, 2013, 03:03:25 AM »
This calculator might be useful for this exercise:

http://www.borstengineeringconstruction.com/Hydroelectric_Capacity_Calculator.html

Please be sure to read the instructions.

Bob B.

joestue

« Reply #5 on: July 23, 2013, 05:15:01 AM »
i find that calculator interesting but from a psychopathic engineer's point of view..