Author Topic: induction motor generator puzzle  (Read 4753 times)

mab

induction motor generator puzzle
« on: December 06, 2013, 03:21:42 PM »
Hi all,

my hydro system has been running for about 3 weeks now and I've been getting about 240w from it. it uses a 2Hp 3phase induction motor with 3 100uf caps in the c-2c configuration to give single phase output.

I've been using a variac to adjust the (resistive) load, and by comparing the ammeter and voltmeter to get max power.

Trouble is I'm still learning how it behaves, and in trying to maximise the output I've noticed something odd:

initially I was getting about 160w (1.6a 100v) at about 27Hz, but suddenly it changed  - the freq dropped to about 24Hz and the volts went up, but when I adjusted the variac for max output I ended up with about 2.4a at 100v. I didn't know why it had changed but obviously I was happy to be getting 240w rather than 160w.

anyway, it's been quite dry lately and low water together with fallen leaves blocking the strainer resulted in air in the penstock (and a small drop in output - 23hz, 1.8a, 100v).

So today, although the water level is still marginal I stopped the genny to allow the air to rise out of the penstock, then restared.

trouble is it's now running 27hz, 1.6a 100v again - i.e. worse than with air in the system and I can't think why it should run at higher frequency but lower power  :( .

I was hoping one of the (relative) experts on here might tell me what I'm doing wrong. In the meantime I'm going to make a smaller nozzle in case the weather stays dry...

Flux

• Super Hero Member Plus
Re: induction motor generator puzzle
« Reply #1 on: December 06, 2013, 04:46:24 PM »
This could be a bit complicated.

What is the motor rated at, it sems as though you are running it about half nominal speed so I assume it should be a 230v ( ish) motor on its rating plate.