Author Topic: Newb need help  (Read 5452 times)

stomper

Newb need help
« on: August 15, 2014, 03:00:21 AM »
Hi, i'm from Northern Quebec and i need your help.

I'm new to renewables so here's my situation, i got a hunting cabin 2km from my house and i need power for my netbook, a router, LED light and a water pump. The only thing i need all day is the router because my phone is working on voip and i dont want to pay 60$/month for a cellphone, it works on 5v 1A. The light is mostly at night and the computer is only when it rain and it's too boring to go outside. The water pump is to pump water from the river to take a shower and the toilet.

So i was thinking about getting some deep discharge battery and something to charge them, i dont like a generator because i would need to haul fuel and the noise.

I dont get much wind since i'm in the woods and solar panel is an option but i was thinking about hydro power.

As you can see on the picture below i'm 20 feet from a small river and the beavers built a dam and reservoir upstream so the river is almost always flowing at the same rate , i can't build a dam myself or disturb the river but i have enough water flowing to get a 4 inch pipe and 6f of head, i used this chart to get 66GPM

so 6ft = 1.82m
     66GPM = 250l/s

This calculator say;
At 60% system efficiency (2678 Watts) of generated electricity

So what would be my best option at this point? I'm a welder/machinist with a lot of tools, got a plasma and AC/DC tig i can weld aluminum and S.S.
My budget is around twice the cost of a propane generator so +/- 2000$
Everything has to be hauled with an ATV + 4X8 trailer so a big water wheel is a challenge to get on site, also i cannot distrub the river because of provincial law, but i'm allowed to put a 4 inch pipe to get water in my cabin, since the law dont talk about how much water i can take i guess i can get a 4inch pipe flowing all day.

stomper

Re: Newb need help
« Reply #1 on: August 15, 2014, 03:08:42 AM »