Author Topic: Using grid for peak power needs only  (Read 11287 times)

JohnWilliams

Using grid for peak power needs only
« on: September 04, 2014, 04:29:46 PM »
I live on a small farm in a rural area of Southern Illinois with a coop electric company that does not allow grid-tie solar. I have an energy certified all electric home (certification by the coop when under construction). I also have geothermal heating and cooling. Long term, our coal based coop will be hit pretty bad by the trend in EPA regs on use of coal. Now is the time for me to start considering solar. BTW, my background is a BS in EE, retired from the computer industry so I have the electrical skills, but not much knowledge in solar best practices nor terminology.

First step is to profile my energy usage. I have details from smarthub on daily use but have no details on peak use during the day. I have a killawatt but no way of looking at overall use over 24 hour timeline. I just bought a clear current EnviR to get a better view of peak loads on the heavy hitters (Geo, cooktop, oven, WH, washer/dryer, etc).

I was looking at Chris Olson's videos on youtube on the use of a moderately sized inverter, with a generator backup to handle the peak loads. Was thinking in my case, of use of a moderately sized system that handles nominal loads entirely on solar but calls from the grid for peak load help. Is this possible and practical? Would this be considered grid-tie?

As I consider this for the house I am planning to start a small solar project on the shop electrical using a RV2012 inverter that I have on hand. That will allow me to start learning more about this with some hands on capability on a smaller scale. My shop is 350 ft from the nearest electrical panel and I don't want to run 4 wire 100amp cable underground for that distance due to cost. Will be an interesting experience to see if I can meet my shop needs with and inverter and a generator.

Thanks for viewing my post and anxious for some input.