Author Topic: Ni-Fe battery price  (Read 17368 times)

isee

Ni-Fe battery price
« on: January 12, 2015, 01:42:54 AM »
Hi All, I happened upon one of Ian's posts, promoting the Ni-Fi batteries. I work in the European power industry and was chatting to colleagues about storing the negatively priced power (once in a while electricity companies pay you to take their power off their hands in wholesale). And it was more of a theoretical cost exercise rather than actually arbitraging this relatively rare occurrence, but it got me into reading about various power storage solutions that could be used on micro/domestic level. One of which was the ni-Fi battery and it almost sounds too good to be true. So having now spent about 6 hours reading up on the tech I have also found a supplier of these beauties in Russia so my question is this (forgive the long prelude)

What sort of demand for them is really out there and what kind of price point would make them a competitor to the more common lead acid batteries?

I have looked at the Edison-iron's proposition of 300ah 12v bank for $2,900 and reckon that if the Russian supplied quote is correct i could get them shipped to EU/US for a retail price of about $2000, possibly a bit less, depending on the incidental costs like shipping and taxes. I guess I am asking if anyone would have any interest in doing a group order or something as I have no need for them other than being a geek and a tinkerer (built my own 3d printer, a drone, a solar collector etc)

isee

Re: Ni-Fe battery price
« Reply #1 on: January 12, 2015, 01:52:36 AM »
The batteries in question are manufactured by the Kursk plant and from their website:
  • metal. shock resistant case
  • temp range: -20C to 40C
  • simple to service

[/list]

DamonHD

• Administrator
  • Super Hero Member Plus
    • Earth Notes
« Reply #2 on: January 12, 2015, 03:00:52 AM »