Author Topic: From New SMA INVERTER SI6.OH-11, battery full 50HZ Jumps to 60Hz  (Read 43397 times)

camillitech

• Life at the end of the road
Re: From New SMA INVERTER SI6.OH-11, battery full 50HZ Jumps to 60Hz
« Reply #99 on: June 04, 2015, 04:41:27 PM »
I am not a lawyer but that is IMHO simply nonsense.

CM's contention can simply be that the equipment is not fit for purpose since in a fairly common/normal arrangement it needlessly destroys batteries and appliances, in his opinion.  Indeed he might be of the opinion that the destructive behaviour could be construed as deliberately anti-competitive, which could bring SMA into a whole new world of pain with the EU competition authorities.

The fact that there is a photo of a different arrangement here is not relevant in the slightest.

I do wish people would stop trying to scare either CM or Fieldlines into taking down the threads.  I don't see many wild accusations or libels; we are discussing and expressing opinions on some apparently bad engineering and post-sales support from an otherwise respected international brand.  I'd like to hope that this is not typical SMA equipment or support behaviour, as reported.

Maybe SMA would like to deter people from buying SI units for domestic use at all, I don't know.

And people do use systems in ways not intended and then complain when it behaves strangely; I've had it happen to things that's I have put together, used orders of magnitude beyond the original design spec and I'm frankly amazed that it worked at all!

Rgds

Damon