Author Topic: Test for Power Point of Panel with UNO  (Read 2983 times)

OperaHouse

Test for Power Point of Panel with UNO
« on: October 17, 2016, 11:55:33 AM »
One of the nice things about a microprocessor is you can build little tests into them.  In my house program I have a number of screens I can enter with a keyboard command to display charging, fridge, heating, resets, etc. operations and display variable values.  I've had some bad experiences with solar panels and this routine is a convenient way to check them.  The water heater elements serve as the dump load.  I just wait for a quiet time in the system when batteries are nearly charged and the fridge isn't running to do the test.  It is a straight forward process where I turn everything off that is used by the 36V string.  Then I record that open circuit voltage and start ramping up the PWM numbers till it reaches the end or the lowest test voltage I want, in my system that is about 47V.  The resistance is known so the maximum amperage is calculated based on the voltage.  That current is multiplied by the duty cycle percentage to get average current.  The average current is then multiplied by the voltage at that time to get power.   The power is compared with the previous power.  If higher, it is stored along with the variables at that time giving the power point of the panel.  All integer math.  Not super accurate, but repeatable.  It tells you basically what you want to know.  A large capacitor must be used on the panel power so the current averages.  Could be a useful addition to your program with some minor changes.   Half the value (aprox) of the divisor is added before any division to round up numbers.  At the end, keyboard stores the last key pressed.  Most screens keep displaying new data and are part of the program delay.  Dis a screen that only has a delay so the power point data stays till another key is pressed.

//  *********************************************************************