Author Topic: Guidance for a real newbie  (Read 4718 times)

Wilbart

Guidance for a real newbie
« on: December 11, 2015, 10:55:15 AM »
Hello everyone,
I am completely new to all ok this “otherpower” topics.  I have very limited knowledge on how all this works.  I am looking for a little direction on what I can read to get started.  I have done some reading on the web on different web sites and on some book topics but as I look into them I never get a real good feel on where to start. 
I am looking to get a working understanding on how Wind and maybe Solar power works.
Any help you can give would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

David HK

Re: Guidance for a real newbie
« Reply #1 on: December 11, 2015, 04:56:33 PM »
I started like you - interest and questions.

What you need to do first is look at yourself so to speak. You mention wind and solar. Do you live somewhere that has sustained wind most of the year? If you live in a poor wind area take less interest in wind but don't abandon it. To answer this you should be able to study this aspect via the Internet and the US of A weather services.

How skilled are you in metalwork, woodwork and electronics? Are you capable of teaching yourself these subjects via the Internet and special interest books?

Do you live in the middle of an apartment block, or somewhere at ground level that would enable you to erect a wind turbine or photo voltaic array?

Special interest web sites to visit, here are two that are well known to members of this website:-

http://www.thebackshed.com/Windmill/Contents.asp#2

http://scoraigwind.co.uk/

How much power do you want to produce, or, are you just wanting to build a small contraption to satisfy curiosity?

Please provide readers with your expanded thoughts and some answers to the above.  I suspect  Forumites can provide further guidance if you provide more detail.

Dave

SparWeb

• Global Moderator
  • Super Hero Member Plus
    • Wind Turbine Project Field Notes