Microcontrollers > Data Logging

Arduino for beginners

<< < (4/8) > >>

Bruce S:
SparWeb;
The post that you did for your datalogger are the kinds that true beginners really need to see.
It helps put the whole picture together.

SparWeb:
Thanks Bruce,
You'll be happy to see some follow-up since I'm still working on it and have many changes too!

george65:

--- Quote from: OperaHouse on September 27, 2017, 03:36:18 PM ---  The only way to learn is to get your feet wet. With some basic knowledge these can be adapted to your own needs.

--- End quote ---

I have some basic knowledge and have adapted different applications to do different things and even figured out a line of code and change external board components to do what I want and they have worked well.
There are a few things I have seen you have written about and provided code for  which I would love to do myself and have looked for. The way you write code with no other explanation of connections or parts makes your effort in the code absolutely useless to me. If I had the schematic, I could look up the part substitutes and probably work around them. THAT would allow me to learn, having the code only teaches me Zero.
I'm not completely useless, but I do have limitations.
I think you are so far advanced and intimate with this, you have forgotten what it's like to be at this end of the scale. I know it can be difficult, I have the same thing myself when asked about my game BUT, if you want to help you have to get on the persons level or just tell the to ask someone else if it bores you or whatever.

Showing the code and nothing else is like emailing your wife when she tells you the car has broken down and telling her to Check the points are opening and closing in the Distributor, pull the cam belt cover back and make sure it hasn't snapped, check the plug leads are on and the thing has fuel pressure.