Homebrewed Electricity > Wind

Help needed on a Breezy type grid tied induction turbine

(1/8) > >>

Kyle:
Hello to everyone. I am new to the forum. I have been reading and learning what I can over the last month. I am new to wind turbines.

My project is a small turbine(750 watt) with a 3 phase/220 volt motor and a 10:1 gearbox. I have been reading about the Prairie Turbines “Breezy 5.5” and am trying to do something like that only smaller. Their web site is shut down and my attempts to contact have failed thus far. I was hoping to find one of their books which may explain some of my questions.

My current hurdle is the wireing of the 3 phase to the single phase grid. I read that the Breezy did this without a converter. Could someone with knowledge of this explain how to wire my motor to accept the single phase 220 v?

paara:
You are trying to connect you 3 phase wind turbine directly into a 220v grid, without an invertere?

JW:
Post some pictures so we can get a better idea of what your trying to do. Also it may not be possible for what your trying to do.
: with what you have.

Kyle:
Thank you for the reply. Here is a picture of the project.  I don't have a picture of the wiring block but it is a standard 3 phase/220 volt setup with 3 leads. I can't tell if it is delta or star setup as yet. Hopefully I can figure it out when I open it up. I think I have the wiring bypass figured out. It sounds like adding some capacitors to one of the 3 phases will trick it to think the single phase is 3 phase. My 3 wires will be, 1 - 220v +, 2 - neutral, and 3 - 220v+ through capacitors. I understand I will be sacrificing 60% power to do this.  I will be pulling it down and experimenting this weekend -weather permitting.

george65:

I believe the wiring setup you are looking for is called C2C.
It's a pretty common way to convert 3 phase to single.