Author Topic: Starter wind power setup?  (Read 2658 times)

frog

Starter wind power setup?
« on: May 28, 2018, 09:57:39 PM »
I am a true newbie, and I am very interested in setting up a simple wind generator but I'm not at all sure where to start.  I would like to have a small windmill, mounted somewhere easily accessible, and connected to a basic battery, from which I could power a fridge or lights.  I live in an urban/suburban setting.  My undergraduate degree was in physics, so I understand the basics of electricity.  I've found some interesting commercial windmills for sailboats that seem like they would work well, but they're a little pricey.  I welcome any direction you could give me in terms of how to get started.  Thank you in advance!

JW

• Development Manager
  • Super Hero Member Plus
    • Flashsteam.com
Re: Starter wind power setup?
« Reply #1 on: May 28, 2018, 10:16:00 PM »
I Approved this user, Welcome :)

Your going to encounter just about as many types of wind turbine. Some examples would be dual rotor permanent magnet, the motor conversion using magnets. The next thing your going to be asked many questions, how much power do you need, battery bank, wind in your area etc

Bruce S

• Administrator
  • Super Hero Member Plus
  • USA
« Reply #2 on: May 29, 2018, 08:47:09 AM »
Frog;
Could you give us some info on your site? Got big trees, an antenna tower? know what wind speeds around your location is?

There are some very basic, starter windmills you can cobble together that could be had for nearly nothing.
Old printer motors, that have a DC rating. Old school bus , fans are also DC powered.

IF you're into DIY, there are months worth of great reading here. Pop the word HWAT or VAWT into the search hit enter and enjoy  :).

Welcome aboard

Bruce S
A kind word often goes unsaid BUT never goes unheard

frog

« Reply #3 on: May 29, 2018, 12:33:21 PM »