Formulas and calculators > Coil winding

Double the coils or double the magnets (single vs dual rotor)

(1/3) > >>

planetlajord:
Sorry if I'm in the wrong section! Learned a TONNE from this board but it's my first time posting.

Just about to start my 3 phase PMA build but I can't seem to find an exact answer to this question or the physics behind it. Would I get more power from more coils on a single rotor PMA or from less (but ticker) coil positions on a dual rotor (opposing magnets) PMA?

Background: I have 24 total cylinder, neo magnets (1.25" diameter, 1" thick with a 0.5" hole) and near endless supply of pre-made street lamp ballast coils (3.25 x 2.5 x 0.75). I realize these aren't ideal shapes or sizes and it wont be an exact science but these are all free and what I have to work with. Initial experiments passing a single magnet over a coil exceeded all expectations.
Blade size will be determined once I know the forces required to rotate the alternator. The use of this will be to directly power water heating elements (to heat a thermal battery water tank in the winter and a pool in the summer). Total or capacity/number of elements will be determined by the end resulting power. I live on a farm on the open prairie in Southeast Saskatchewan Canada with some of the best wind on the continent and a 50' tower.

See diagram:

<blockquote class="imgur-embed-pub" lang="en" data-id="a/VGlMuyc"><a href="//imgur.com/a/VGlMuyc">PMA for Fieldlines discussion[/url]
--- End quote ---
<script async src="//s.imgur.com/min/embed.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Scenario 1: Large diameter, single rotor
18 coil stater (6 coils per phase) and 24 total magnets on a single rotor (with an apposing steel rotor to focus the magnetic flux)

Scenario 2: small diameter, dual rotor
9 coil position stater (with stacked coils to make a thicker coil, so still 18 in total), with two x12 magnet rotors opposing each other (connected via steel bolts to close the flux loop).