Author Topic: Question about the midnite classic charge controllers...  (Read 1113 times)

makenzie71

Question about the midnite classic charge controllers...
« on: April 03, 2021, 03:46:46 PM »
My Heli is a 48v turbine, but one of the things I'm struggling with right now is dropping that 48v to a 24v bank (all of my load is on the 24v bank).  This is going to be a problem that nickel and dimes my budget out from under me so I'm considering ditching the bandaid methods and looking at a proper charge controller.  Can the Midnight controllers handle running a 48v turbine on a 24v battery bank?

kitestrings

Re: Question about the midnite classic charge controllers...
« Reply #1 on: April 03, 2021, 06:54:30 PM »
Hi mak,

I'm by no means an expert, but we've used two Classics for a several years now (on wind).  The beauty with them is that you put in the power curve of the turbine and they attempt to follow it, given the limitations of the wind available.  In our case we have a 48V bank, but the turbine runs from cut-in at about 58-60V up to 120-140V, so it is taking a higher, variable input voltage and bucking it down to a palatable level for the the batteries.  I don't know without researching what the range is - could we drop to a 24V bank; I'm not sure.

You might ask the same question here to be sure.  The thing I'd give MS highest marks on overall is their support:

http://midniteftp.com/forum/index.php?PHPSESSID=b4c4b58582740d9d6c27aa7b1bed4c5e&board=2.0

Best, ~ks

Adriaan Kragten

« Reply #2 on: April 04, 2021, 04:30:31 AM »