Newbies > Newbies

Thermoelectric generator improvements

(1/4) > >>

fepps:
Hi All! This is my first post here. I might have an unusual background for a site such as this-- I am a bookseller by profession. But in the 90s I got involved in alternative energy research of the more far-out variety, and eventually went on to work for a couple of companies as a database researcher. All this to say that I'm not a builder but a paper pusher :-)
Over the years my focus has narrowed, and gotten much more conventional. I've spent the last few years reading the patent databases in PV and Thermoelectric generators, looking for technologies that might have been lost or forgotten over the years. I found plenty. In particular, it looks to me like Seebeck generators can be made far more efficient than they are now, through use of some pretty simple means, easily developed. None of it is my invention, just what I gleaned from reading a lot of old patents. Frankly, I'm here to promote the possibility of an efficient TEG, and offer some information that might be useful to anyone who is interested in that possibility. I won't waste anyone's time going through it all, unless there is some interest. Thank you for your time!  Fred

Bruce S:
Fred;
WELCOME ABOARD!!
You will find there are plenty of people here you are interested in the TEGs and their counterparts.
Please due post some of your findings and don't be too worried about rambling on, we do that on a regular basis  :o

I have two solid state fridges that I've increased their cooling abilities by merely taking the backs off replaced the single exhaust fan with side mounted squirrel fans to let the hot air out.

Cheers
Bruce

DamonHD:
Hello!

I have some meaty Seebeck generators that I never deployed.  I was considering going big solar thermal and coverting excess heat to electricity, but in the end went PV and I am doing the reverse for a heat battery!

Rgds

Damon

SparWeb: