Homebrewed Electricity > Storage

So I went down the Nickel-Iron battery rabbit hole...

<< < (2/3) > >>

SimonMester:
Yeah it is nasty stuff. I studied biochemical engineering, and only ever used small amount of acids and bases, and always very slowly.
I have deep respect for it. Exothermic reactions are no joke.
Not going to mix any of the stuff without an ice bath that's for sure.

SimonMester:
So after digging even deeper, this is the one chemical route I found so far, on affixing the oxides (iron and nickel) to the electrodes:

"Iron (anode) Plate

To make the iron anode, first mix 6 1/4 grams of iron oxide with 1 1/4 gram of ammonium chloride,
   then add distilled water a drop at a time until a stiff
   paste results. The mixture will give off ammonia gas and will turn to a
   white color. Working quickly, smear the paste well into a 1½ x 6-inch piece
   of No. 20 or 30 close mesh iron or copper wire screening.

It will take about a day for the paste to thoroughly set and harden on the
   screen, or you can hasten it by placing it in an oven set at no more than
   130°F. When dry, lay screen in a solution of ammonium chloride (12½ grams to
   6 oz. of water), for about 1½ hours to harden it further. This completes the
   anode plate.

Nickel (cathode) Plate

To make the nickel cathode, first mix 6 1/4 grams of nickel oxide with 1 1/4 gram of ammonium chloride,
   then add distilled water a drop at a time until a
   stiff paste results. The mixture will give off ammonia gas. Form this plate
   directly on the surface of a 1½ x 6-inch. piece of .015 inch or thicker
   nickel screen, which has been cleaned thoroughly with emery cloth. Working
   quickly, smear this paste well into a 1½ x 6-inch piece of No. 20 or 30
   close-mesh nickel wire screening.

It will take about a day for this paste to thoroughly set and harden on the
   screen, or you can hasten it by placing it in an oven set at no more than