Author Topic: Building the sickest® VAWT ever. Brilliant minds unite please!!  (Read 2097 times)

brandnewb

Re: Building the sickest® VAWT ever. Brilliant minds unite please!!
« Reply #33 on: December 07, 2021, 05:46:16 AM »
OSB is far to flimsy for a coil form... you would be better off having it 3d printed by someone with a large machine. Using a water proof filament(the low end filaments will absorb some H2O so not a good choice). Wood in general is to unstable and I don't care how well you water shield it moisture WILL get in there in the form of condensation.

Trust me, I have a LOT of experience with this with several boxes with delicate electronics mounted on towers! ALL have a weep hole or they would collect water.

btw we are still in a prototyping phase. for the laternator it's full scale or nothing for now as I lack any and all math skills to do proper extrapolations on results of small scale tests.

So the question remains; How to get the most power output at 60 rpm out of 96 magnets in a +- 80 cm diameter?

The materials we can change when prototyping is done.

Mary B

• Administrator
  • SuperHero Member
« Reply #34 on: December 07, 2021, 12:41:50 PM »
Find your local maker club, draw what you want made, for a small fee they can do it. Probably have to segment in it 4 pieces that can be glued up but they can do that on their computers.

JW

• Development Manager
  • Super Hero Member Plus
    • Flashsteam.com
« Reply #35 on: December 07, 2021, 03:55:08 PM »
I run Solidworks 2000 and 2016. The sweeps and lofts are not easy to master.

brandnewb

« Reply #36 on: December 08, 2021, 07:09:23 AM »
or when I have 3mm steel disk. do they need holes cut out for the magnets or can I position them on the surface of the disk?

Can someone please advice on this?

I am moving towards 3mm thick steel plates for both the coil disks and the magnet disks.