Author Topic: Help with forklift battery  (Read 5876 times)

Ballyk

Help with forklift battery
« on: April 19, 2009, 08:46:28 PM »
Hello all. Im new to this home power business. I have a wind turbine and am planning to add solar too. I bought a forklift battery for €50(im in Ireland here). It weighs 1650lbs and was orininally 48volt but I only need 24. It is made up of individual 2volt cells (24 in all). I took the best cells and made up one 24 volt battery and plugged it in to a large charger i borrowed from a friend. this thing can throw out 100 amps. I charged it at a low setting and the next day I had 26volt on my meter. I joined all the cells with flattened 1/2 inch copper pipe screwed on top of the posts. I dont know if its fully charged or not. I have read posts here about "equalisation" etc and I really havent a clue what you are all talking about.

I looked at the rest of the cells and most of them were dry. I washed them out with an EDTA solution and they cleaned up well. I then refilled them with 30% sulphuric and connected them in the same way. Put them on charge and again got 24volts next day. If im lucky I will have 2 big batteries, or blow myself up!!!!

I really need somebody to talk me through setting up these batteries,

How long do I charge them for?

How strong a charge do I put on?

Do they really bubble that much?

will the dry refilled cells come back to life?

I have todat started to log the SG of each cell. None of them are in the right range but I am still getting the voltage. Will this come right and how do I get there.

So many questions but maybe somebody can hold my hand and help me along.

regards to all. Its a great site for the likes of me .

« Last Edit: April 19, 2009, 08:46:28 PM by (unknown) »

kurt

• website
Re: Help with forklift battery
« Reply #1 on: April 19, 2009, 04:19:29 PM »