Author Topic: Did not think it out. Mixed system, SLA Batteries.  (Read 3116 times)

UrbanWind

Did not think it out. Mixed system, SLA Batteries.
« on: June 06, 2009, 04:25:41 AM »
Noob here, need some wise input for the borad elders about my setup.

Orgianlly I planned on a mixed system, a little solar, little wind.  Everything dumps to the batteries and a dump controller is used.  Plannd on Golf Cart Batteries.

Then you get one of those offers you think you can not refuse.  I got batteries at a good price I think.  I ended up with 13(Lucky) TC12-120S Power batteries.

These are SLA instead of the regular Lead Acid batteries as you all know (I did not think about it when I dealt for them).

From all the reading I been doing, these are probably not well suited for wind?  SLA's want slower charging and do not like high voltages.

My questions are.

Is that correct, dumping into these directly with wind / solar then using a dump controller would not be a good thing to do?

What would you recomend my configuration be with Solar (225 watts currently) and wind (Just an Amtek 30 and a Low Wind PMA currently).  I do have a Xantrex C40 controller I can use if needed.

Thank You

Jim

« Last Edit: June 06, 2009, 04:25:41 AM by (unknown) »

SparWeb

• Global Moderator
  • Super Hero Member Plus
    • Wind Turbine Project Field Notes
Re: SLA Batteries.
« Reply #1 on: June 06, 2009, 11:35:09 AM »
Well, it could be worse: you could be trying to mix lead-acid with NiCad.

You've obviously seen by now that the SLA's cannot be "equalized", while the flooded batteries need it if they're to last a long time.

I started writing assuming that you have some of both types, and trying to splice them together.  Now I realize that maybe you only have the sealed batteries.  Is that right?  If so, you're probably okay, you even have a spare (no matter how you connect them).