Author Topic: Basic Battery Amp-Hour capacity question  (Read 19014 times)

CmeBREW

Basic Battery Amp-Hour capacity question
« on: August 12, 2006, 06:32:02 PM »
Hello guys:

Hate to ask such a basic question, but I have been looking for answer for days but no luck. Here's the problem:

I finally bought two brand new "cheap" (Walmart) 12v "deep-cycle" marine/RV batteries to start experimenting with my basic beginner system. They are 115 Amp-hour each hooked in parallel of course. (=230 AH@12v)  I have read that a 100 AH battery should, in rough estimate, put out 1 amp for 100 hours or 100 amps for 1 hour, or 50 amps for 2 hours, etc, etc,etc.  My problem is, I am only getting about 1/10th of that storage capacity!! I have had 2 years in electricity/electronics so i do know the basics of electricity, But I'm still a beginner with this stuff. They are full of distilled water and were fully charged when I bought them both at the same time. I then immediately hooked them both together to equalize. I've been reading many persons many times using a couple of these or golf cart batts to run a Tv or computer (150 or so watts)for 4-6 hours on a charge. My 100 watt TV(including 4 watt inverter) runs the full charge (12.72) down to the 20% safe discharge point (12.46v) in only 15 minutes! It's not my volt meter or new inverter either. It does the same thing with my campfire 5Watt 12v fan hooked up directly. These batteries act more like 7 Ah each! I wonder if a Walmart employee was secretly using these batts to go out fishing with, over the last few months or something! Oh yeah, the sticker on the batts say they are only 3 month old. It least there garanteed for a year or two.

Has anyone had similar problems with this type battery. I've only had them for a week. I was hoping to at least watch a 2 hour movie on a full charge. Then Recharge each day.   -Thanks "experienced ones".
« Last Edit: August 12, 2006, 06:32:02 PM by (unknown) »

Flux

• Super Hero Member Plus