Author Topic: Jerry-type pulser/desulfator using MOSFETs instead of transistors and going high-frequency  (Read 19306 times)

The Crazy Noob

Hi,

I've made a Jerry pulser (see circuit at the bottom of post) some time ago to revive dead car batteries and to use them for my first small windmill (not built yet). I know about the "big no-no" around car batteries, but hey, they are free where I get them :-).

Annyway, I managed to blow up that pulser (blew up some transistors) and I found that the costs of replacing the transistors was higher than the costs of buying power MOSFETs. I have never worked with MOSFETs before, and they seem to hate static charges and strange voltages at the gate. They do allow higher frequencys, and with all the talk going on about the inner resonance frequency of batteries, that might be a bonus.

About my (brief) experiences with the other pulser: I have so far tried to pulse 2 car batteries (one 100Ah, and another one 80Ah) and they both had one cell that just wouldn't gass. Does that mean that it's shorted? I had no obvious heating of the battery or that particular cell. I pulsed it about 30hrs or so, with an average current of about 2 amps (measured with an analog meter that was swinging between zero and the peak current, so I guess that it's about the average current) and a frequency of 200Hz or so with a capacitor of 900µF, pulse voltage was 30V.